top of page

Communities of Glarus

Political Communities

In 2011 the community structure of canton Glarus was reorganised - now only three administrative communities exist:

Glarus Nord including the original communities

Bilten, Niederurnen, Oberurnen, Näfels, Mollis, Filzbach, Obstalden and Mühlehorn

Glarus including the original communities

Netstal, Glarus, Riedern and Ennenda

Glarus Süd including the original communities

Mitlödi, Sool, Schwändi, Schwanden, Nidfurn, Haslen, Leuggelbach, Luchsingen, Hätzingen, Betschwanden, Diesbach, Rüti, Linthal, Braunwald, Engi, Matt, and Elm

You can view for all of the above communities with a link to the short historical, demographic and geographical description; the official websites are only available in German; a translation into English was prepared by the webmaster.

Parish structure for the Reformed Church in Glarus

In 1523, Zwingli dedicated his Reformation thesis to the magistrate, council, and community of “Glaris”. And this left its mark: By 1530 a majority of the canton’s people were of Reformed faith – but indeed not all. Practical solutions were sought and found, for example, through the shared use of Glarus’ church by its Reformed and Roman Catholic congregations.

Communities with Roman Catholic congregations are Glarus, Niederurnen/Bilten, Oberurnen, Näfels and Netstal. All other communities are Reformed congregations.

The historical parish books and therefore also the Kubly-Müller records are split into the parish communities which differs in some cases from the political community structure:

The parish Betschwanden includes the communities:

Betschwanden, Braunwald, Hätzingen, Diesbach and Rüti

The parish Ennenda (as from 1774 / before part of the parish Glarus) includes the communities:

Ennenda and Ennetbühls

The parish Glarus includes the communities:

Glarus and Riedern (until 1774 also Ennenda and Ennetbühls)

The parish Kerenzen includes the communities:

Filzbach, Obstalden and Mühlehorn

Article: History of the parish Kerenzen and the Fire of the Rectory in Obstalden 1834

The parish Luchsingen (as from 1752 / before part of the parish Schwanden) includes the communities:

Luchsingen, Leuggelbach and Adlenbach

The parish Matt includes the communities:

Matt and Engi

The parish Näfels includes the communities:

Näfels and Oberurnen (until 1868)

Oberurnen participated after 1280 in the construction of the chapel in Mollis, which was raised in 1319 to a church for Näfels and Oberurnen. Since these two communities rejected the Reformation, they formed in 1532 a separate Catholic parish. In 1868, Oberurnen had separated from the parish of Näfels and inaugurated its own church.

The parish Schwanden includes the communities:

Schwanden, Schwändi, Sool, Haslen, Nidfurn and until 1752 also Luchsingen, Leuggelbach and Adlenbach

Bilten, Elm, Linthal, Mitlödi (as from 1725 / before part of the parish Glarus), Mollis, Netstal and Niederurnen were independent parishes.

Collection of historical photographs 

The photo collection of the Landesarchiv of the Canton of Glarus contains more than 10'000 photos, postcards and other illustrations on the following topics:

The pictures from the photo collection are digitized and published in the media collection of the Canton of Glarus:

Photo collection of the Landesarchiv Glarus

bottom of page